Photo of the Day: Gentrification

Even though I was born and raised in the DC area and claim it as my home, I only recently became an official DC resident. The neighborhood I moved into, like many neighborhoods in DC, is one that has been labelled an “up and coming” are for a number of years. Part of the reason I wanted to move here was because of the deep roots this neighborhood has in DC’s cultural and artistic history. Since moving here, however, what I am finding is that history is being forgotten and the people moving in are trying to lay claim to a nighborhood that was never really theirs to begin with. Not that the neighborhood should belong to any one. It just seems that the newbies are trying to build a community that is excluding a lot of this area’s history and the people who lived through it.

Gentrification is a topic in which I’m extremely interested. When I was younger, a lot of my photo work was based on the every changing city. Seeing how things are going now, I’m thinking maybe it should be a subject I should start working on again.

gentrificationsmalllg

~ by ladyglock on March 4, 2009.

2 Responses to “Photo of the Day: Gentrification”

  1. yeaaaahhhh. lady glock!

  2. OH, you took that? I saw that one Flickr, or DCist yesterday, congrats!

Leave a Reply

 
