January 20th, 2009

barack-wheatpaste-01-lg

I don’t think I really need to title this post, aside from the date that these photos were taken. It’s a date that will be forever ingrained in the minds of people in the United States and abroad. It was a day when our 44th elected president, Barack Obama, was sworn in.  While millions went down to the National Mall to watch the Inauguration live, I decided to watch it from the warmth of one of my favorite spots Busboys and Poets. (For all the adventures I go on, massive massive crowds frighten the crap out of me)
The morning of the swearing in, I walked down an exetremely quiet U Street. I mean it was eeriely quiet…very few people were out and with good reason. A) It was freezing! and B) They had better things to be doing. Like watching the whole thing from Busboys. So anyway, here are some of the photos I took from that glorious day.

busboys06-lg

busboys01-lg

(This painting was done by artist Rachel Crouch. Check out her stuff!)

busboy04-lg

busboys05-lg

Yes we can…and yes we did!

~ by ladyglock on January 24, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
